This tutorial will show you how to use SoraApp to find eBooks and eAudiobooks in MCPS and Montgomery County Public Libraries.
MackinVIA will direct you to Follett. Login using your Student ID (only the #) and your MCPS password.
Here's the link to our Gale Virtual Reference Library collection by subject.
Here's the link to our Gale Cengage “For Students” subcollection.
American Decades Series by
American Decades documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. Each volume begins with an overview and chronology covering the entire decade. Subject chapters follow, each including an explanatory background overview; subject-specific timeline; and alphabetically arranged entries discussing the people, events and ideas important to that subject during the period. Included are biographies; explanations of concepts; terms and events; quotations; charts; sidebars covering high-interest topics; and much more.
American Home Front in World War II by
Unlike other resources, which often focus on the day-to-day battles and other military details of World War II, "American Home Front in World War II examines the effect of those battles on the people living in America from issues of ethnicity to home front organizations. "American Home Front in World War II: Almanac discusses major events on the home front. "American Home Front in World War II: Biographies highlights 26 key figures. "American Home Front in World War II: Primary Sources includes primary material from a variety of sources.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by
This 5-volume set offers a fresh perspective on history by examining the development of the arts and humanities in historical time periods. Patterned after Gale's World Eras series, each volume combines chronologies, sidebars, primary documents, biographies, and critical narrative analysis to cover information typically left out of history books. Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. Each volume begins with an overview of the period and a chronology of major world events. Nine chapters follow covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater and visual arts. Each chapters starts with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters and other prominent figures in the field. quotations, excerpts from artists about their work and/or commentaries/criticism published during the period, and a list of general references for further information.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History by
A comprehensive encyclopedia of world history with 538 articles that trace the development of human history -- with a focus on area studies, global history, anthropology, geography, science, arts, literature, economics, women's studies, African-Americanstudies, and cultural studies related to all regions of the world--Provided by publisher.
Chemistry by
This is a reference tool, designed to guide the reader through all the aspects of a discipline that is core science and providing a knowledge base for a large number of other disciplines. Showing the myriad of ways in which chemistry plays a role (both seen and unseen) in our daily lives, this work also makes the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader. are also entries providing scientific, commercial and career information. This work not only details the basic underlying scientific principles of the field, but also relates the subject matter to the reader through examples.
Child Labor by
An unprecedented number of children around the world are working today. This volume is a must-have, up-to-date survey for student research. In the 15 examined countries, poverty, lack of education, gender inequity, the demands of the global marketplace, and easy sex tourism are key factors contributing to the child labor crisis. Each chapter depicts the child labor scene in a particular country, along with detailed conditions, the history of the problem, the present state of child labor, political policies, and social aspects, and the ultimate outlook.
Drama for Students
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
Elizabethan World Reference Library by
During the reign of Elizabeth I, 1558-1603, England was transformed from a backward and isolated island to a leading military power and commercial center in which culture and the arts flourished. Filling the gaps left by other Shakespearean resources, < I>Elizabethan World Reference Library< /I> covers the broad sweep of the culture of the times, from Elizabeth's court to rural life, and from the New World explorations to the remarkable flowering of literature and drama for which the era is renowned. Perfect for both history and literatures studies, this set was designed with the student in mind: numerous illustrations for key visuals, chronology to maintain perspective, sidebars to add interest, words to know for additional clarification, subject index for easy navigation and many other features, such as research and activity ideas and further reading suggestions. The Library is divided into three separate volumes. < P>The < I>Almanac< /I> focuses on major topics such as religion and politics, war and conflict, science and education, as well as the Elizabethan worldview, Elizabethan court, daily life and the culture of music, art and literature. < P>< I>Biographies< /I> includes Shakespearean contemporaries and notables such as Walter Raleigh, Francis Drake, Francis Walsingham, Elizabeth I, Jane Grey, Francis Bacon, Catherine of Medici, James I, as well as Shakespeare himself. < P>< I>Primary Sources< /I> is a hand-picked collection of some of the most significant and studied documents of the era, among them "Elizabeth I: Speeches," excerpts from "The Book of Common Prayer," "Pope Pius V's Bull against Elizabeth" and Shakespeare's "Richard II."
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society by
This three-volume set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. "Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world. Features 250 photographs representing the visual images of childhood.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by
The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,
Europe, 1789-1914 by
'Europe, 1789 to 1914' offers encyclopedic coverage of European institutions, events and personages over the 'long' 19th century, including the continent's increasing world dominance during this period.
Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction by
The tumultuous recent century of Europe's history is traced in this five-volume set, which picks up the story begun in its companion set, Europe 1789-1914 . Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, Europe Since 1914 details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and Europe making a new place for itself on the world stage. Written by about 500 leading experts from universities all over the world, the set effectively covers a broad scope, encompassing the period's scientific and economic, social and cultural, political and military developments. Users will find in it the major facts about the period, clear explanations of the main lines of scholarly interpretation and guidance through scholarly controversies. Sidebars add interest and clarification, a chronology and thematic outline offer concise context that builds meaningful connections, and article specific bibliographies offer guidance for further reading. Each volume also includes an 8-page color insert and a comprehensive index that allows quick access to target information.
Gilded Age and Progressive Era by 
Great Depression and New Deal Reference Library by
The economic crisis that began with the American stock market crash of 1929 had dire effects all over the world, particularly in Europe. Covering both the disastrous failure of the economy and its gradual recovery, "U· X· L® 's Great Depression and New Deal Reference Library" examines the causes of the collapse; the impact of unemployment and under-employment; the sinking confidence of people throughout the world; the disorder in Germany after World War I that led to the rise of Adolf Hitler; and many other dimensions of this global calamity. Special attention is paid to the New Deal, Franklin D. Roosevelt's domestic reform program. "Almanac" covers the era in 15 subject chapters. "Biographies" profiles approximately 30 of the major figures of the period. "Primary Sources" features approximately 18 annotated excerpts from speeches, newspaper and magazine articles, literature, and other documents from the period.
History of World Trade since 1450 2 Volume Set by
Trade has always been a defining factor in world history and these volumes illustrate this continuity in more than 400 articles, making work essential to students interested in the great industrial and commercial expansion of the 19th and 20th centuries, world history surveys, American history and economics.
Literature and Its Times (and Supplements) by
Information about the historical background of over 300 often-studied literary works from around the world.
We also have the hard copy of this reference title at Blair.
The Literature of Autobiographical Narrative by
"Every one of us is a witness to history. The times we live in will be studied and analyzed by future generations, just as we currently study and analyze the past. Autobiographies, oral histories, diaries and journals are records of the human experience, snapshots of a time and place that are brought to life in our consciousness through words on a page. In reading these works, we bear witness to and come to better understand the societies, cultures, and experiences of the past directly from the people who lived during those periods. Gale's Literature Of Society Series, The Literature Of Autobiographical Narrative is a three volume set examining works that chronicle a life or are compiled from narrated memories. This helps us understand history more from a personal, rather than historical, level. Three hundred engaging entries focuses on autobiographies, diaries, journals and oral histories from around the world and various time periods to bring us closer to the human experience of history. Some entries look at those who carry on the tradition of oral history, such the West African Griot, Scandinavian Skald, British and Gaelic bards, Native American storytellers, and more. "
The Middle Ages by
More than 300 illustrations, including photographs of art and architecture, maps, diagrams, and heraldic insignia, enliven the volumes. Additionally, three sections of full-colour plates display the daily life, the art and architecture, and the people of the Middle Ages.
Nonfiction Classics for Students by
Nonfiction Classics for Students provides in-depth literary and historical background on the most commonly studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies and memoirs in a streamlined, easy-to-use format. Covering 15-20 works per volume, this five-volume reference set gives high school and undergraduate students an ideal starting point for class assignments, term papers and special projects.
Novels for Students
Each volume of Novels for Students contains easily accessible and content-rich discussions of the literary and historical background of 12 to 15 works from various cultures and time periods. Each novel included in this new resource was specially chosen by an advisory panel of teachers and librarians -- experts who have helped us define the information needs of students.
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
Shakespeare for Students, 2nd Edition by
Three volume set of Shakespeare's most-studied works, including basic narrative elements of each play and critical analysis.
Television in American Society by
Focused on a popular topic, this exciting collection gives students and teachers substantial material for discussion and research. The three-volume set shows how television has reflected and influenced American society and culture throughout its history, covering both positive and negative effects. Accessible and interesting as well as informative, this Library includes more than 180 interesting illustrations and sidebars, clear prose, and ideas for activities, research and further reading. A subject index, chronology and words-to-know section are among the many other features supporting student achievement. The Library contains three distinct volumes. The Almanac looks at the history of television chronologically, starting with the introduction of the technology in the 19th century and ending with issues that face the industry as well as its future outlook. Included in its coverage are the most popular and influential TV programming and seminal moments in TV history. Other subject include networks, viewing trends, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), types of programming (such as Children's, educational, dramas, comedies, news, sports), advertising and the emergence of cable television. Biographies focuses on television's early pioneers, news figures, performers and executives. Included are engaging portraits of key figures such as Roone Arledge, Lucille Ball, Oprah Winfrey, Bill Cosby, Walter Cronkite, Norman Lear, William Paley and Barbara Walters. Als presented are in-depth profiles of important and popular TV programs, among them All in the Family, Cheers, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Saturday Night Live and Monday NightFootball. The Primary Sources volume collects key documents and writings pertaining to the television industry, including transcripts from Tom Brokaw from the fall of the Berlin Wall and excerpts from Raising PG Kids in a X-Rated World and The Code of Practices for Television Broadcasters (Seal of Good Practice, 1981). For example, in the volume are comparisons of early and more recent advertising, coverage of such news events as JFK's assassination and 9/11, and excerpts from boo by news and industry leaders.
UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances by 
World Eras
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by
"Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers. Entries cover everything from central doctrines and sacred texts to dietary customs and significant holidays. The three-volume set explores 13 major religions, plus 24 sects, and spans Asia and Oceania, Europe, the Americas, Africa and the Middle East. Also includes 300 illustrations, belief tables showing how individual religions are unique and what they share with other religions, a glossary, maps, a cumulative index and much more.
World of Forensic Science by
A comprehensive guide to the legal, social and ethical issues involved in forensic science, this text covers the techniques and principles of biology, chemistry, law, medicine, physics, geology and psychology, as well as looking at the multidisciplinary approach of examining crime scenes and evidence.
Cancer by
Salem Health: Cancer alphabetically arranges 835 essays on all aspects of cancer. The essays address diseases, conditions, symptoms, cancer -related syndromes, chemotherapy, cancer centers, genetics, the biology of cancer, medical specialties, tests, alte
Genetics and Inherited Conditions by
This set alphabetically arranges 459 essays on diseases, biology, techniques, methodologies, genetic engineering, ethics, and social issues. Written for nonspecialists, it will interest health care consumers, premedical students, public library patrons, a
Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations by 
The Twenties in America by 
The Forties in America by 
The Fifties in America, Volume 1 by 
The Sixties in America by 
The Seventies in America by 
The Eighties in America by 
American Creative Non-Fiction by 
Critical Insights: The American Dream by 
American Poetry of the 20th Century by 
American Post-Modernist Novels by 
American Writers in Exile by 
The Canterbury Tales, by Geoffrey Chaucer by 
Critical Survey of Drama, 3rd Edition (8 Volumes) by 
Critical Survey of Poetry: Topical Essays by 
The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald by 
The Handmaid's Tale, by Margaret Atwood by 
Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut by 
Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe by 
American Short Fiction by 
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
the set contains 772 alphabetically arranged articles. they cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. I
