It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Databases: Databases by Name (A-Z)
Database Services from MCPS and from our local funds. These databases are a very good source for your research papers. Most of them include the MLA format for the article.
Search for instructional video from a variety of producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, the BBC and more.
Teachers: Capture links and create playlists to customize a video program for your students. See the media center staff for help.
An online workbook for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese or Latin language students. Teachers can access a library of practice activities, with more exercises added during the year by our users.
MCPS Approval Status: No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
PAID subscription (full access).
Gale General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. Included in General OneFile are reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals.
Gale in Context High School offers current and authoritative information to meet the needs of today's learners with a mobile-responsive design that is easy to navigate.
Users can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more
Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Covers today’s social issues by bringing together resources including pro-con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition provides access to authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies. Entries are labeled with Lexile reading level or Lexile score.
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 72 different languages. If you are just getting started, use your MCPS Google username and password to create an account.
From the publisher: "The articles on News for You are based on reports from The Associated Press and The Washington Post news services. All content is thoroughly reviewed by adult education professionals and editors to ensure accuracy, low-level readability, and appropriateness."
May be used on-campus only.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. For more than 25 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies.
50+ complete units of study with over 8,000 science-related articles, videos and images. Provides students with a better understanding of science concepts. Text in ScienceFlix can be translated or adapted easily to match most reading levels.
May be used on-campus only.
Science, an academic interdisciplinary science journal published since 1880 by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), is recognized as one of the most valuable and respected science publications.
Find quality pro/con articles and great websites. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
An online collection of books that you can read or have read to you. Many are bilingual titles which allow the user to read the book in two languages.
Teachers Note: Many of the books contain lesson plans.
Empower students to think critically and take ownership of their work. Easy-to-use feedback & grading features facilitate instructional intervention and save time both in and outside of the classroom.Encourages ethical academic behavior and enables an online learning environment. All Blair teachers have accounts. Joining a class is easy for students. Teachers, please see Andrea for help with this.
World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
For more than 75 years, World News Digest has been a go-to resource for context and background on key issues and events in the news, presenting more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.