Database Services from MCPS and from our local funds. These databases are a very good source for your research papers. Most of them include the MLA format for the article.
Provides the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes access to the New York Times.
A great encyclopedia to start your research with current information. The content is written by experts. Access to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, News, Spotlight and Research tools.
Information about the political and economic systems of the United States and analysis and research support concerning key questions in the history and function of American government
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
Gale in Context High School offers current and authoritative information to meet the needs of today's learners with a mobile-responsive design that is easy to navigate.
Users can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more
Provides overviews of conflicts, the opponents, causes & consequence, statistics, images, maps, and video to conflicts from exploration of the New World to the present.
World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
A great encyclopedia to start your research with current information. The content is written by experts. Access to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, News, Spotlight and Research tools.
Books and Authors provides opportunity to explore fiction genres and essential nonfiction titles. Includes a What Do I Read Next? to support readers advisory.
This collection covers young adult books and adult books with teen appeal, making it perfect for anyone wishing to curate a comprehensive young adult literature collection. Exceedingly helpful for teen departments and high school libraries.
Curriculum related newspaper and magazine articles. Also provides links to external websites. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
Find quality pro/con articles and great websites. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
An online collection of books reads out loud and highlights the text. Contains everything from classics like Romeo and Juliet to contemporary stories perfect for pleasure reading.
An online collection of books that you can read or have read to you. Many are bilingual titles which allow the user to read the book in two languages.
Teachers Note: Many of the books contain lesson plans.
This resource for academic research integrates the full text of scholarly publications and general interest periodicals from across the disciplines. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes access to the New York Times.
Curriculum related newspaper and magazine articles. Also provides links to external websites. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
Find quality pro/con articles and great websites. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
Covers today’s social issues by bringing together resources including pro-con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
Find quality pro/con articles and great websites. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
Online access to Nature, one of the most frequently cited science multidisciplinary journals. Provides access to a backfile of previous issues click here.
50+ complete units of study with over 8,000 science-related articles, videos and images. Provides students with a better understanding of science concepts. Text in ScienceFlix can be translated or adapted easily to match most reading levels.
Online access to Scientific American including original graphics. After you enter the "magic word" password, then you will see Institutional Access. Scroll down to get to the issues or the top menu to see eBooks and Special Editions of Scientific American.
Covers today’s social issues by bringing together resources including pro-con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
Provides overviews of conflicts, the opponents, causes & consequence, statistics, images, maps, and video to conflicts from exploration of the New World to the present.
World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
Search for instructional video from a variety of producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, the BBC and more.
Teachers: Capture links and create playlists to customize a video program for your students. See the media center staff for help.
Login with your MCPS Google credentials.
Learn360 is the ultimate streaming multimedia resource! Users can access more than 137,000 multimedia resources—including high-quality full-length videos, video clips, interactives, images, audio files, articles, activities, worksheets, and more.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test
An online workbook for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese or Latin language students. Teachers can access a library of practice activities, with more exercises added during the year by our users.
MCPS Approval Status: No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
PAID subscription (full access).
Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. Research undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring and preparing for careers. Includes a variety of interactive methods programs, knowledge, skills, and ability.
Use Noodletools to create your works cited list. Share your list electronically with your teacher. Although this link will get you to Noodletools, it is also available to you on Clever.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test.
An online workbook for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese or Latin language students. Teachers can access a library of practice activities, with more exercises added during the year by our users.
MCPS Approval Status: No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
PAID subscription (full access).
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 72 different languages. If you are just getting started, use your MCPS Google username and password to create an account.
