LibGuides: Huckleberry Finn: Home

MBHS Media Center Online Database passwords

Link to MBHS Online Services Passwords
Use your mcpsmd.net account to view this Google document. Updated: 8/22/2025

📰 Access World News

Trial: Available until Jan 1, 2026

📰 World News Digest

Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles.
Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia.

E-books

Mark Twain by R. Kent Rasmussen (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 811 TWA

ISBN: 9781587656897

Publication Date: 2010-10-31

Literature and its Times - Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Gale/Cengage)
This chapter on Adventures of Huckleberry Finn will provide quick background and historical relevance. I will provide the password in class.
Novels for Students: Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Gale/Cengage)
From Volume 1. You will receive a password in class.

Databases for Online Literary Criticism

Home use username & passwords for these databases are on your handout.

ProQuest Learning: Literature (ProQuest)
Collection of author biographies, contemporary criticism, reviews, and multimedia resources. Great for poetry readings.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest)
Although many students use the Leading Issues browse, SIRS provides many excellent previously published critical pieces, such as the Jane Smiley article and "When Sanitizing Literature Sullies the Text from the International Herald Tribune, by Michiko Kakutani . Dig deep.

Overview to Print Sources

Huck Finn bibliography
Don't confuse this with a works cited list, because it's not! The formatting of this annotated bibliography should not be cut and pasted into your list.
2019 Huck Finn Research Objectives

Huck Finn

Asleep on the Raft, illustration from 'The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn', by Mark Twain . Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 28 Apr 2015.
http://quest.eb.com/search/108_250603/1/108_250603/cite

Helpful Websites

These sites provide links to primary sources and food for thought.

Born to Trouble (PBS Frontline Cultureshock)
You may have seen this in class.
CBS News: Huck Finn and the "n" word
A discussion of Huck Finn in the classroom. Students and teachers discuss their experiences.
Huck Finn in Context: A Teacher's Guide
Companion to Born to Trouble.
Mark Twain in His Times
A scholarly site dedicated to discovering what Twain was saying to audiences then and what he is saying to us now. Contains primary sources galore.
St. John's College, Annapolis
A hallmark of St. John's is the reading and discussion of the great works ranging from the ancient philosophers to more modern social critics.
What does it mean that Huck Finn appears on this reading list?
The Mark Twain Papers and Project
From the Bancroft Library at University of California, Berkeley. An online archive of letters, published and unpublished manuscripts, photographs, and notebooks.

Polishing Tools

MLA Style Center
Excellent help from the Modern Language Association. Perhaps even better than the OWL for understand the elements of a citation, for right now
Noodletools
Use Noodletools to create your MLA works cited list and notecards.
You will need to set up an account using your mcpsmd.net username and password. We will be using the share feature for this.
Turnitin.com
Your teacher may require you to submit your paper through Turnitin.com. You will need to get a code from your teacher.

2019 Huck Finn sample works cited list

Online Reserve Cart

See the widget below to view Blair's Huck Finn Research Paper on the the LibraryThing to help find publication information and some content (via Googlebooks). This list includes materials from the media center cart of reserve items including critical materials from single-author volumes, anthologies, or series (primarily from Gale Research).

Printing & Photocopy Tips

Important Printing Instructions - DON'T!
Please use database features to save to your MCPS Google drive or e-mail the article to yourself. If you really need to print, get permission after you have skimmed the article for relevance and have formatted for printing.

Huckleberry Finn: Home