Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Medicine: Home

Printing Guidelines

Human Anatomy

Human Anatomy. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest.  http://quest.eb.com/images/139_1906712

Printing Guidelines

How to save paper:

  • Preview the document to see if it is helpful
  • E-mail the document home for further review
  • Always look for printer friendly icon or link
  • Reduce the text size
  • Print preview to see number of pages
  • Cut & paste if necessary (also cut & paste bibliographic information from original source)
  • Get permission from media center staff or your teacher

Websites

BBC - Historic Figures page dedicated to Watson and Crick. Photos, basic information.

The British Library

Ancient Civilizations - links to online exhibits on Ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Ancient India, Ancient China, Early Imperial China, and Mughal India. Requires Macromedia Flash Player (may not work at school).

Bodies of Knowledge - Provides images of the body and perspecitives on how societies have looked at the body and studied its function. Includes links to images Vesalius's Renaissance anatomy lessons.

History - look on the pages for Medieval Realms, the Georgians (1714-1830), and the Victorians (1837-1901).

Cherokee Cultural Society of Houston Cherokee Messenger- a link to herbal medicines and the origins of disease. Found by Mr. Haigh's class!

Dorling Kindserley Clip Art - you may be able to find some great images here.

Heath Guidance - a link to an article on Prehistoric Medicine. Found by Mr. Haigh's class!

Health Techologies Timeline - describes innovations in medical technology since 1903.

History of Medicine - provides an interactive timeline to the practice of medicine from antiquity to present. http://www.abpischools.org.uk/res/coResourceImport/resources04/history/index.cfm

History World - a timeline of medicine and health through history. Found by Mr. Haigh's class!

Indiana University- Health and Medicine in Ancient Cultures - textual information on ancient health practices in Egypt, Mesopotamia, and Greece.

National Library of Medicine

Classics of Traditional Chinese Medicine - presents information on traditional Chinese medicine including some of the oldest information in the National Library of Medicine.

Dream Anatomy - recommended by your teachers.

Greek Medicine - provides a brief history of Ancient Greek Medicine.
Historical Anatomies on the Web - A collection of digitized images from historical anatomy books from many cultures.

Images from the History of Medicine - a searchable database of images.

Islamic Medical Manuscripts - see a glossary of medical and book-making terms and a brief overview ofIslamic medical history.

New York Times - a link to an article about the medicines from the bag of the prehistoric "iceman." Found by Mr. Haigh's class!

PBS

The Age of Aids - showed how our thinking about AIDS changed as AIDS changed the world.

The Doctor over Time - shows how medicine has evolved since 1900 and compares current treatments with previous medical practice.

St. Boniface College - page on Prehistoric Medicine. Found by Mr. Haigh's class!

University of New South Wales - Development History- History of Science - Index. Provides chronologically arranged brief introductions to milestones and achievements in medicine.

University of Virginia Health System

Antiqua Medicina - an online exhibit of ancient medicine.

Surgical Instruments from Ancient Rome - images and descriptions of surgical instruments excavated from the House of the Surgeon at Pompeii.

Wall Street Journal - Desperate Times. A timeline of medical advances due to war.