Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Segregated Education in the South websites
Pro / Con Media Center online databases - good for general reference & periodical articles
SIRS Researcher (SIRS Knowledge Source)
Use this database to find quality articles and great websites. Look for "Leading Issues" and find pro/con articles. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic.
Death Penalty (Capital Punishment) websites
Death Penalty Information Center
A non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. The Center was founded in 1990 and prepares in-depth reports, issues press releases, conducts briefings for journalists, and serves as a resource to those working on this issue.
Michigan State University
Includes statistics by state, links relating to various death penalty issues and to other web resources. It was constructed with high school curricula in mind.
Southern Methodis University
This is an anti death-penalty site put together by Rick Halperin of Southern Methodist University. It has information on executions organized by year and by state and a collection of links to related web resources
information about death penalty issues and statistics. There are a wealth of links to more information both through this site and through others as well as suggestions for getting involved if you wish to participate in resisting the death penalty.
American Civil Liberties Union
includes information on all topics relating to current civil liberty debates such as The Patriot Act, immigration laws, etc. There is a side bar which lists all the issues that the site covers and you can click on “death penalty” to get information that outlines and supports the ACLU’s anti-death penalty position .
This news site has links to the history of the death penalty in the US.
Update on the Dead Man Walking - Sister Helen Prejean
Updated statistics and links from Sr. Helen-Prejean's site.
Use Noodletools to create your works cited list. Share your list electronically with your teacher.
MCPS Approval Status: Approved
PAID subscription (full access).
Empower students to think critically and take ownership of their work. Easy-to-use feedback & grading features facilitate instructional intervention and save time both in and outside of the classroom.Encourages ethical academic behavior and enables an online learning environment. All Blair teachers have accounts. Joining a class is easy for students. Teachers, please see Andrea for help with this.
MCPS Status: Use Responsibly. Affirmative Parental Consent. PAID subscription (full access).
Critical Insight: To Kill a Mockingbird by Don Noble
Overview essays consider the cultural contexts surrounding the novel and the critical reception of Lee's work. Other essays offer a close examination of the novel as wisdom literature and consider the lessons being taught in the novel, and a consideration
Martin Luther King, Jr.: A Biography
Martin Luther King, Jr. provides a thorough study of King's life from his birth on January 15, 1929, in the upstairs bedroom of his family's middle-class home on Auburn Avenue in Atlanta to his death on the balcony of the Lorraine Motel. The reader will learn about King's character, his many accomplishments, and the forces against him. It's hard to believe that King was only 39 years old when he died
Racial Justice in America: A Reference Handbook by David B. Mustard
Racial Justice in America examines a volatile social issue that is always in the news, focusing on five critical areas: criminal justice, education, employment, living accommodations, and political participation.
•African Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook - Minion K.C. Morrison
This handbook provides a thorough treatment of the various mechanisms African Americans have used to participate in U.S. political affairs from the colonial era to the present.