Horticulture: Books on Reserve in the Media Center

A comprehensive encyclopedia of housepants shares valuable information on cultivating and caring for these common plants, with a special section devoted to patio and deck containers as well as step-by-step instructions. Original. 35,000 first printing.

A new edition ofBetter Homes and Gardens(r) best-selling landscaping book. Packed with 408 pages of all-new material from the editors of Better Homes and Gardens(r) books, this complete landscaping guide has everything you need to know transform your yard. More than 700 stunning photographs and 100 complete step-by-step projects show you how to improve grading, plant successfully, build a deck, and much more. Plus an all-new plant encyclopedia with 95 plant photos! It's everything you need to know to improve your view. Step-by-step plans for patios, edging, walls, fences, water gardens, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces, garden sculpture, and more. Cost estimate, time needed to complete, skill level, and material list included with every project. Hundreds of inspiring photographs, ideas, and plans.

Packed with useful tips and techniques, the Better Homes and Gardens Yard & Garden Owners Manual shows you how to keep everything outdoors in peak condition -- from plants of all types to paving, decks, outdoor furniture, accessories, and other hardscape features. This is the book with all the answers. It's the ultimate reference for the care and upkeep of everything in your yard. Book jacket.

The must-have manual for every gardener, with expert advice on growing lawns, flowers, shrubs, fruits, and vegetables, plus hundreds of solutions for common problems. Organized in an A-to-Z format, with easy-to-understand entries, over 1,500 illustrations and photos, and over 200 handy charts and checklists, this guide combines basic information with tips and shortcuts.

Shows both the novice and the experienced gardener how to design, grow, and maintain a garden all year round. This guide provides information on selecting the appropriate flowers, a directory of flowers, and a list of activities to undertake. It features more than 750 colour photographs and illustrations.

An indispensable reference for gardeners at all levels, this comprehensive, beautifully illustrated encyclopedia offers detailed descriptions of over 2,000 ornamental and edible plants. Each entry includes everything you need to know to grow your favorite plants successfully, including hardiness zones, soil preference, landscaping uses -- even the best way to prune for enhanced bloom. Organized into 12 different categories, the plants included range from Bulbs, Cacti & Succulents, and Ferns to Ornamental Grasses, Trees & Shrubs, and Herbs & Vegetables. For rose aficionados there's a separate section devoted entirely to the stunning array of cultivars available. Includes more than 1,200 full-color photos for easy plant identification, and a handy index listing all the plants in the book by both their botanical and common names.

We all - gardeners or not - appreciate the beauty of familiar garden flowers. But how well do we really know these everyday plants? When do we stop to consider a flower's personality, or to discover the dramatic events that have contributed to its particular identity? What adventures took place as these plants, now part of our daily lives, were transported - often by explorers or botanists who were quirky characters themselves - from their birthplaces in Asia, Africa, or the Americas? Strangers in the Garden, illustrated with over a hundred stunning photographs, prints, and drawings, reveals the characters and personal histories of ten popular flowers - the chrysanthemum, the clematis, the crocus, the dahlia, the geranium, the iris, the lilac, the peony, the rhododendron, and the tulip - by tracking their fascinating journeys from misty peaks, arid valleys, and exotic hillsides to our gardens, decks, and patios.

Photographer Clay Perry's striking, inspiring photographs remind us of the incredible color, dignity, and whimsy of flowers. Complete with details on growing and caring for each variety, A World of Flowers presents seventy-five flowers, each one with its own history and character. The entries range from Acanthus to Zantedeschia (Calla Lilly), and include the most popular varieties, such as Marigold, Iris, and Pansy, along with Freesia, Spider Lily, Jade Vine, Red Hot poker, Love-in-a-Mist, and many more.Seasoned gardeners as well as those with no prior experience growing and cultivating flowers will turn to this stunning collection again and again for it's beauty, information, and inspiration.

The Ortho All About Series shows readers how to use annuals to achieve instant color with little effort and expense.

With clear and concise details on when and where to grow each plant, 'The A-Z Of Garden Flowers' is an easy-to-use reference for novice and expert gardeners alike.

These lavishly illustrated guides offer the novice and veteran gardener alike encyclopedic information and instruction. Full-color photography throughout.

This large-format guide helps you identify, choose, and grow more than 1,000 perennials. Special sections feature garden design, general cultivation, and raising new plants, and the expanded index presents brief descriptions and common names.

Presenting a new way to think about gardening, the American Horticultural Society's "smart gardening" program teaches gardeners how to their own preferences and time availability, assess the possibilities of a location, and then create a garden that is in tune with the environment. A coding system, assigned to each plant, uses hardiness and heat zones, sun/shade, water needs, and plant size to help determine the perfect plants for any site. Includes more than 3,000 plants that grow well in: Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Encyclopedia of more than 450 perennials. Features 630 full-colour photos and 25 one-colour illustrations.