Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Database Subscriptions
Websites - Biodiversity / Habitat
- a non-commercial website created to promote bioscience literacy.
Tuffs Center for Conservation Medicine
- a research center devoted to exploring the link between animal to human transmission of disease and environmental / habitat encroachment that brings humans into closer contact with insect and animal disease vectors.
World Wildlife Fund
- has fact sheets and position papers exploring the link between animal, habitat destruction and disease.
Population ~ Polishing Tools
Illustration of multi-ethnic crowd of babies. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.
Website - Demographics / Migration / Population / War
- key Issues page outlines challenges for countries dealing with internal and external conflicts that lead to large numbers of displaced persons. See a list of all themes to view other documents of interest.
BBC News: The World at Seven Billion
Use this interactive tool to calculate your impact and place in the world based on your birthdate, your country, and gender.
Center for Global Development
- a Washington, D.C. think tank devoted to reducing poverty inequality internationally. See links to information on migration and global health.
CIA World Factbook
- provides basic information on countries, includes social, cultural, and demographic indicatiors.
Doctors Without Borders
- find publications highlighting the impact of war, famine, and disease on vulnerable peoples.
Institut national d'etudes demographiques (INED)
- information of the world's population links to multimedia content, publications, research projects, research mini-sites, selected links
NationMaster Chart Search
- a searchable database that pulls from leading sources of development and demographic data to make data comparisons by county.
- graphical illustration that shows the distribution of various age groups in a population
Population Reference Bureau
- to find different statistics by a multitude of indicators or search "Country Profiles" to find PRB articles and statistics on on specific countries.
U.S. Census Bureau: IDB Data Access page
- an index of demographic and socioeconomic statistics for 277 countries.
United Nations Population Information Network
- provides links to reports and data from within other UN system web sites.
World Health Organization - Country Statistics
- country statistical pages include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.
Website - Diseases
- information on HIV/AIDS global epidemic.
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
- visual representations (infographics) of statistics, programs, and populations by various indicators.
Centers for Diease Control and Prevention
U.S. government agency dedicated to the identification and prevention of disease. The Global Health link contains articles on re-emerging threats, such as Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease).
The Carter Center
- provides information on peace activities and health initiatives worldwide. Click on "Health Programs" or "Countries" to find information on programs in these areas.
United Nations Foundations
- see links to programs that are being developed in response to global health.
World Health Organization
- search by Country to find information on a country's health indicators and expenditure. Search Health Topics to find information about a particular disease and its distribution. Search Epidemics and Pandemic Alert and Response to find information on outbreaks by county. Click on Disease Outbreak News to find information on diseases and outbreaks by year, by country, and by disease.
Websites - Women
Amnesty International - U.S.
- Women's Human Rights - provides some information about violence against women.
- an organization devoted to reporting on and improving the status of women in the world.
World Bank: GenderStats
- a searchable database of gender-based statistics and indicators.