LibGuides: Civil Rights : Civil Rights

Directions and Close Reading Guide

Directions
Use databases to locate journal articles for your research and include MLA citations .

Websites

CRM - Civil Rights Veterans Movement - loads of primary sources and links to the movement, including organizations and leaders

Britannica (free content) - overview of the civil rights movement. Inlcudes names, primary sources, and images.

Eyes on the Prize (PBS: The American Experience)

Voices of Civil Rights - search this site for fantastic text and lots of nicely captioned images

Databases

NoodleTools (Noodletools) This link opens in a new window
Use Noodletools to create your works cited list. Share your list electronically with your teacher. Although this link will get you to Noodletools, it is also available to you on Clever.

MCPS Approval Status: Approved
PAID subscription (full access).

The Bill is passed

The Bill Is Passed. HORIZONTAL. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 12 Feb 2013. http://quest.eb.com/images/115_869227 CIVIL RIGHTS 1875. - 'To Thine Own Self Be True.' Color engraving by Thomas Nast, commemorating the passage of the Civil Rights Bill of 1875.

Social Studies

Britannica Image Quest (Encyclopædia Britannica) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than two million rights-cleared images from some of the best collections in the world.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful from their modern-day perspectives.
Gale In Context: U.S. History (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides reference, newspaper, video, images, and other primary sources. Search by topic then narrow.
Gale in Context Global Issues (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers today’s social issues by bringing together resources including pro-con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Issues and Controversies in History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews of conflicts, the opponents, causes & consequence, statistics, images, maps, and video to conflicts from exploration of the New World to the present.
World Geography (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
World News Digest (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.