Animoto makes it easy to help your whole school communicate better, with video.
Looking for our free video app for your classroom? Sign up for an Animoto Classroom account for you and your students.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly // Parental Consent is required for account creation for students 13 and above.
BeastBox celebrates the voices of wild animals and the health of the ecosystems they depend on. ... This will give you the chance to see a photo and hear a field recording of the animal, and learn what ecosystem it lives in and how it communicates.
MCPS Approval Status:
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test.
Videos and other activities that are student centered. Great for introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrate complex subject matter or reviewing before a test
Canva allows you to create beautiful designs and professional looking graphics by building on pre-existing templates. Canva allows you to import your own photos or use existing stock photography and illustrations. Using Canva's simple drag & drop tool, you can create a variety of designs, from posters and photo collages to cards and blog posts.
MCPS Approval Status: Only for 13 and above; Affirmative Parental Consent is required for account creation. Teachers can get a basic account using their MCPS Google credentials.
The perfect Capstone Interactive eBook is waiting for you! Choose from different subjects, genres and levels to find just the right book. Every title has professionally narrated audio recording.
Username and password are listed separately under Capstone Interactive (eBooks) at the bottom of the Online Services Passwords Google doc.
CK-12 is essentially a digital textbook. However, in addition to text, teachers and students will find multimedia such as videos and interactive simulations. ... Teachers can set up "classes" that are actually groups of students or individuals and assign content that's more tailored to specific learning profiles.
MCPS Approval Status: No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
ClassDojo helps create a positive classroom culture by giving teachers an easy way to give students 'points' for things like participating in class, helping others, or showing grit. Students can share what they are working on with digital portfolios, and teachers can engage parents in the learning process by sharing what's going on in their classroom, how a particular student is doing in class today, and sending direct messages.
MCPS Approval status: Use Responsibly: Affirmative Parental Consent
Common Sense digital citizenship lesson plans to address timely topics and prepare students to take ownership of their digital lives. Browse lessons by grade and topic below, or learn more about our approach to the curriculum.
An online workbook for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese or Latin language students. Teachers can access a library of practice activities, with more exercises added during the year by our users.
MCPS Approval Status: No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
PAID subscription (full access).
ExploreLearning Gizmos is the world's largest library of interactive online simulations for math and science education in grades 3-12. Over 400 Gizmos give everyone something to graph, measure, and compare. Even predict and prove.
Helps reinforce equity and engagement. Can be used for assessment. A simple way for students and teachers to create online discussion. Easy integration with myMCPS Classroom (Canvas);
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly / Affirmative Parental Consent
Groove Pizza is a circular rhythm app for creative music making and learning! It’s also a playful tool for creating grooves using math concepts like shapes, angles and patterns.
MCPS Approval Status: No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
Kahoot and Kahoot.it can be used during distance teaching using the equipment teachers and students have at hand. See this short video tutorial for more help.
MCPS Approval Status: Approved // No login required OR Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation
From Kami: Kami is an online document annotation and markup tool. You can highlight, underline, and strikethrough text in PDF and other document formats. You can also add text boxes, shapes, and images. Kami works with Google Drive and Google Classroom. With Kami, you can easily collaborate on documents in the classroom while avoiding the hassles of printing documents. Also integrates with Canvas.
Great lessons and videos for all disciplines. Teachers and students can create accounts linked to their MCPS Google accounts and post lessons in Google Classroom.Students can independently use Khan Academy for test prep lessons in coordination with the College Board.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly | Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
Login with your MCPS Google credentials.
Learn360 is the ultimate streaming multimedia resource! Users can access more than 137,000 multimedia resources—including high-quality full-length videos, video clips, interactives, images, audio files, articles, activities, worksheets, and more.
Lucidpress is a web-based (nothing to install) drag-and-drop publishing and graphic design tool that allows students to create and share both print and digital content. Students also have the option to create a custom or team document.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly: Affirmative Parental Consent
Use Mentimeter to get instant feedback and opinion on presentations. Helps students and teachers get a sense of where the learning is and the energy is going. Use Mentimeter to evaluate, get real-time data, and prioritize feeback with ranking tool.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly // Affirmative Parental Consent
Create, play back, and print sheet music for free. MuseScore is cross-platform, multi-lingual, open source music notation software. It features an easy to use WYSIWYG editor with audio score playback for results that look and sound beautiful.
MCPS Approval Status: Only for 13 and above; Affirmative Parental Consent is required for account creation.
Online access to Nature, one of the most frequently cited science multidisciplinary journals. Provides access to a backfile of previous issues click here.
Naviance is an American college and career readiness software provider that partners with high schools and other K–12 institutions to provide students with college planning and career assessment tools. The company reports that its products reach more than 7 million students at nearly 8,500 schools in 100 countries.
Nearpod is an easy-to-use lesson builder for teachers to assemble lessons and distribute them to student devices. Teachers can get real-time feedback from students and post-session reports on comprehension. Nearpod also offers a lesson marketplace for teachers to discover and purchase lessons built by other teachers.
Use Noodletools to create your works cited list. Share your list electronically with your teacher. Although this link will get you to Noodletools, it is also available to you on Clever.
See which students are engaged or confused. Use this add-on to design a new presentation or open an existing one in Google Slides. Just getting started with Google Slides? Upload your Powerpoint or Keynote lessons to Google Slides and get going!
Teachers can use Quizizz for distance teaching to help engage students and create quick formative assessments, pulling from a bank of quizzes or teachers can create their own. Students do not have to participate at the same time, so it's ideal for asynchronous environments.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly // Affirmative Parental Consent
Helpful for teachers and students in all areas; especially helpful for distance learning because of easy to use and share mobile applications. Allows teachers and students to create new sets of online flashcards and modify existing sets. Teachers can use diagrams and images for visual learners or for disciplines requiring visuals.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly // Affirmative Parental Consent
Remind is a classroom messaging app that helps teachers build relationships with students and parents every day. Teachers know students are on their phones; Remind helps teachers reach students where they already are!
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly / Affirmative Parental Consent
50+ complete units of study with over 8,000 science-related articles, videos and images. Provides students with a better understanding of science concepts. Text in ScienceFlix can be translated or adapted easily to match most reading levels.
Online access to Scientific American including original graphics. After you enter the "magic word" password, then you will see Institutional Access. Scroll down to get to the issues or the top menu to see eBooks and Special Editions of Scientific American.
Seesaw
Featured
Seesaw is a digital portfolio that empowers students to independently document and showcase their learning. Parents can have an immediate, personalized window into their child's day so they can support learning at home. For teachers, Seesaw saves time on organization and communication, makes formative assessment easy, and provides a safe place to teach digital citizenship skills.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly / Affirmative Parental Consent
Curriculum related newspaper and magazine articles. Also provides links to external websites. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
Find quality pro/con articles and great websites. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.
Reach all your students' families In their home languages to build strong partnerships. TalkingPoints is a non-profit organization solely focused on family engagement for under-served and multilingual families. Highest-quality translation includes both human and machine translation. Makes it easy to reach the hardest-to-reach families. Multilingual app supports two-way communication in multiple home languages.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly; Affirmative Parental Consent required for student account creation.
An online collection of books reads out loud and highlights the text. Contains everything from classics like Romeo and Juliet to contemporary stories perfect for pleasure reading.
An online collection of books that you can read or have read to you. Many are bilingual titles which allow the user to read the book in two languages.
Teachers Note: Many of the books contain lesson plans.
Presents more than seven decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
Provides access to an extensive collection of thousands of e-works of classic, primary source, and general reference materials in 12 subject areas: world history, U.S. history, political science, law, literature, science, mathematics, social science, philosophy, religion, language, and language
arts. This vast collection provides the original sources and personal accounts of humankind’s social, political, legal, and religious development, as well as some of the greatest discoveries, insights, and literary achievements in the words of the actual authors, discoverers, and innovators. It is a reliable collection of fact-checking resources of history makers’ greatest accomplishments—from the dawn of civilization to the present. Contributors include Madeleine Albright, Henry Ford, John Hancock, Malcolm X, and Edgar Allan Poe. Plus, read Confucius, Dante, and Pasteur, or Thomas Jefferson’s account of the signing of the Declaration of Independence.
Common lit is a non-profit website that provides free lessons that support student literacy growth in grade 5-12. All resources are created by teachers and aligned to CCSS. Teachers are able to search for literacy resources by theme or topic and are provided with articles, reading passages, poetry, and more that are paired with both multiple choice and open ended questions. Many resources are also paired with multimedia extensions. Teachers are able to search by lexile level as well to differentiate for students. When students make an account teachers are able to assign readings to them. Some content is in Spanish.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly / Affirmative Parental Consent
Allows teachers to check to see how well or how much students are using and learning video content. Blair has a school-wide premium account during the COVID-19 crisis. Introduce students to self-paced learning with interactive video lessons. It's easy to add your own voice narration and questions!
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly / Affirmative Parental Consent.
An eBook platform delivering unlimited simultaneous browsing of the MBHS Library collection of epointplus books. If you just want to read these books, click on this link.
If you want to view, take notes, highlight and save your work on this rich platform of over 100 selected titles, then log in through Destiny. Ask Ms. Lamphier for help with this.
Formative makes it easy to understand your students’ progress and adapt your lessons to their needs - whether they’re working in person with you or remotely. Harness the power of live student responses and feedback!
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly. Affirmative Parental Consent.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes access to the New York Times.
Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. Research undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring and preparing for careers. Includes a variety of interactive methods programs, knowledge, skills, and ability.
When you first enter the site, you are on Blair's account. You can sign into your personal account using:
Student Login is Student ID# // password is your MCPS password.
Teacher Login is your Outlook LOGIN (in ALL CAPS) // password is your Outlook email address (with Capital Initials).
From Kami: Kami is an online document annotation and markup tool. You can highlight, underline, and strikethrough text in PDF and other document formats. You can also add text boxes, shapes, and images. Kami works with Google Drive and Google Classroom. With Kami, you can easily collaborate on documents in the classroom while avoiding the hassles of printing documents. Also integrates with Canvas.
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 72 different languages. If you are just getting started, use your MCPS Google username and password to create an account.
Instructional Content Platform with engaging content and embedded assessments. Provides Lexile-scaled articles in English and Spanish - builds an online classroom. Also integrates with the College Board. Assessments are integrated directly into articles to help students engage with the content and to give teachers and administrators actionable insights on students’ reading activity.
Parlay is a unique combination of software tools, curriculum content, and supports services. We make it easy for teachers to bring student-driven discussions to the forefront of the classroom experience.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly: Affirmative Parental Consent
Piktochart is a web-based infographic application which allows users without intensive experience as graphic designers to easily create infographics and visuals using themed templates.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly / Only for 13 and above; Affirmative Parental Consent is required for account creation.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly; Only for 13 and above; Affirmative Parental Consent is required for account creation
Alternate Name(s)
Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)
This collection covers young adult books and adult books with teen appeal, making it perfect for anyone wishing to curate a comprehensive young adult literature collection. Exceedingly helpful for teen departments and high school libraries.
Browse hundreds of TED-Ed Animations and TED Talks - designed to spark the curiosity of your learners. You'll also find thousands of other video-based lessons organized by the subjects you teach.
Whiteboard.fi is good for real-time feedback. You use if for quick check for understanding questions during notes/review which is universal across content areas. Students do not see each other's answers, giving teachers immediate and authentic feedback to reteach concepts if needed. Additionally, teachers can set it up so students can also collaborate on work simultaneously (think google docs, but with the freedom of freehand drawings, etc.).
MCPS Approval Status: Approved. No login required; Affirmative Parental Consent for account creation.
Wide Open School Partners Include American Federation of Teachers, Amplify, Apple, Boys & Girls Clubs of America, Comcast, Google, Head Start, Khan Academy, National Geographic, Noggin, PBS, Salesforce, Scholastic, Sesame Workshop, Time for Kids, YouTube, XQ Institute, and Zoom Video Communications, Inc.
MCPS Approval Status: Use Responsibly. Affirmative Parental Consent.
World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
