World of Forensic Science (Cengage / Gale) - an online reference book with alphabetic entries and a hyperlinked index.
C.B.S. News / Forensic Timeline - presents basic information in forensic history from 1248 -1985.
Consulting and Education in Forensic Science / Forensic Science Timeline - you will need to enter information agreeing to copyright and fair use.
Crimezzz.net / Forensic Timelines - includes illustrated events from bce to 2000.
Department of Justice / Crime Scene Investigation: A guide for Law Enforcement - discusses the principles of investigation and preservation of evidence. (doc).
Department of Justice / In the Spotlight: Forensic Science - includes information on the use of DNA evidence collecting even in "minor crimes" to build up a DNA database. Also includes facts and figures and information on persons exonerated by DNA evidence.
Discovery Channel / Dr. G: Medical Examiner - Forensics Quiz and see the medical examiner's tools in action in the morgue.
Federal Bureau of Investigations / Forensic Science Communications - a listing of online issues of the F.B.I.'s magazine of forensic science.
Federal Bureau of Investigations (F.B.I.) / Handbook of Forensic Services (revised 2006) - a detailed searchable manual of crime scene search, forensic tools and techniques, and crime scene safety (necessary to keep investigators away from hazardous materials).
Human Genome Project / DNA Forensics - this site provides basic information on DNA and its use in forensics.
Metropolitan Police / The History of the Metropolitan Police - view the archives on police history including advances in police investigative techniques and view the timeline for information on famous crimes.
National Museum of American History / Gene Sleuths - provides information on the first death penalty carried out in the U.S. due to fingerprint matching as well as the first DNA - based exoneration in the U.S. (pdf file).
Palomar - Human Blood. A tutorial with clear explanations about blood types, their classification, and occurences in populations.
President's DNA Initiative - a U.S. government website dedicated to the use of DNA in criminal investigations and use in identification after natural disaster and other missing persons cases. Offers online training courses and a brief history of DNA evidence in the US.
Scientific Testimony: An Online Journal / DNA Testing: An Introduction for Non-Scientists - An illustrated explanation by Donald E. Riley, Ph.D.
Smithsonian - Written in Bones: See Case studies for crimes solved by forensic anthropologist.
ThinkQuest / Let Evidence Reveal the Truth - an online investigation. Includes a glossary and some case studies in forensics history.
- Criminal Mind: Forensics and Investigation - presents additional cases and techniques that have solved puzzling cases over the years.
- Forensic Techniques - defines techniques and uses of specialized science in forensics.
- Forensic Timeline - provides basic information with dates
Understanding the World of Forensics - an initial textbook chapter outlining some of the basic procedures in forensic sciences as well as some dates in forensics history for events such as the Valentine's Day Massacre investigation. (pdf).
University of Utah / Learn Genetics - provides a brief history of DNA use in court proceedings in the U.S.
Virtual Museum of Canada / Solving a Crime Using Forensics - an interactive site. In addition to the game, you will find a timeline of events in forensic history, and a database of forensics tools and their importance in investigations.
Forgot the username and password for online databases?
