LibGuides: English: Why Shakespeare?

Online Databases

Gale in Context High School (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context High School offers current and authoritative information to meet the needs of today's learners with a mobile-responsive design that is easy to navigate.
Users can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more
ProQuest Learning: Literature (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Collection of author biographies, contemporary criticism, reviews, and multimedia resources. Great for poetry readings.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find quality pro/con articles and great websites. Also click on the icon for Global Impact for a more international perspective on your topic. Use your planbook to find the home use username and password.

E-Books (Gale / Cengage)

Elizabethan World Reference Library by Sonia G. Benson; Elizabeth Shostak; UXL (Created by) Use the Gale / Cengage password for this title.
Call Number: EBK 942.05 ELI
ISBN: 1414401884
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Shakespeare for Students, 2nd Edition by Anne Marie Hacht Use the Gale / Cengage password for this title.
Call Number: EBK 822.33 SHA
ISBN: 1414412559
Publication Date: 2007-08-01

E-Books (Salem Press)

Critical Survey of Drama, 3rd Edition (8 Volumes) by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: EBK 809 CRI
ISBN: 9781682176221
Publication Date: 2017-11-01

Shakespeare's Footprints:

DESCRIPTION: The world over, teachers hear the lament "why do we have to study Shakespeare?" from their students. Here are the answers to that ubiquitous question. This densely packed and student-friendly program includes well-known examples from his plays and a look at his contribution to the English lexicon to demonstrate Shakespeare’s enduring impact on language and the study of literature.

Free Websites

* Shakespeare Behind Bars
Another take on Shakespeare: a project that trains inmates to produce Shakespeare and learn about themselves.
* Shakespeare Online: Why is Shakespeare Important?
Presents fundamentals in support of Shakespeare study.
* St. John's College Great Books Reading List
A definitional source.
* The Huffington Post: Why do we Force Students to Read Shakespeare?
Blogger Rajat Bhageria is NOT a fan.
* The New Republic: Ira Glass is a Philistine
In this online article, author Adam Kirsch defends Ira Glass's disparaging remarks, but writes that our inability to relate to Shakespeare indicates our own inability to engage abstractly with art.
Academy of American Poets
Shakespeare page.
BBC Drama: Shakespeare
Has great background and a really fun tabloid representation of gang war in Romeo and Juliet.
more...less...
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/drama/shakespeare/60secondshakespeare/themes_romeojuliet.shtml)
The British Council:Teaching English Shakespeare
Lots of fun stuff to help in your research about teaching Shakespeare to teens.
British Film Institure Guide to Shakespeare on Film
This document is a bibliography of titles about the history of Shakespeare on Film. Take a look if you are a film buff!
Debate.org: Should Shakespeare be Taught in Schools?
Some food for thought.
Folger Library: Shakespeare as part of the American Identity
Shakespeare from an American perspective.
Folger Library: Shakespeare in American Life - Shakespeare on Stage and Screen
May serve as additional inspiration for your essay.
Folger Library: Shakespeare in American Life - The American Identity
How did Americans come to embrace Shakespeare and make him relevant?
Folger Shakespeare Library Teaching Modules
Provides a TON of information on close readings of some of the passages you've sweated through in class!
The Life and Times of Shakespeare
Internet Shakespeare Editions is like a shelf of books, each of which is listed in the navigational bar beneath the page header. Each book is divided into chapters dealing with related topics.
No Sweat Shakespeare
A site, dedicated to YOU, the student who needs to figure out what Shakespeare is all about. A great source for quotes and Shakespearean language.
Royal Shakespeare Company
Links to information about social and historical performance history of Shakespeare's individual plays.
Royal Shakespeare Company 2
Links to information about Shakespeare's life and times.
Royal Shakespeare Company 3
Links to information about life in Shakespeare's London.
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust - Shakespedia
Learn more about the life and works of William Shakespeare
Shakespeare Resource Center
Provides some background and links to many other helpful sources.

Research Tools

Noodletools
Use your mcpsmd.net username and password to access your account.
Turnitin.com
Your teacher may create a class for your paper submission.
OWL - Purdue Online Writing Lab (MLA 8th Edition)
A source many teachers and professors recommend for each step of the research process using MLA guidelines.

Books on the Cart

Why Shakespeare? collection
Here is a link to the books on the cart.

English: Why Shakespeare?

MBHS Media Center Online Database passwords

Online Databases

E-Books (Gale / Cengage)

E-Books (Salem Press)

Shakespeare's Footprints:

Free Websites

Research Tools

Books on the Cart