Use the Gale / Cengage password for these titles.
Elizabethan World Reference Library by
During the reign of Elizabeth I, 1558-1603, England was transformed from a backward and isolated island to a leading military power and commercial center in which culture and the arts flourished. Filling the gaps left by other Shakespearean resources, < I>Elizabethan World Reference Library< /I> covers the broad sweep of the culture of the times, from Elizabeth's court to rural life, and from the New World explorations to the remarkable flowering of literature and drama for which the era is renowned. Perfect for both history and literatures studies, this set was designed with the student in mind: numerous illustrations for key visuals, chronology to maintain perspective, sidebars to add interest, words to know for additional clarification, subject index for easy navigation and many other features, such as research and activity ideas and further reading suggestions. The Library is divided into three separate volumes. < P>The < I>Almanac< /I> focuses on major topics such as religion and politics, war and conflict, science and education, as well as the Elizabethan worldview, Elizabethan court, daily life and the culture of music, art and literature. < P>< I>Biographies< /I> includes Shakespearean contemporaries and notables such as Walter Raleigh, Francis Drake, Francis Walsingham, Elizabeth I, Jane Grey, Francis Bacon, Catherine of Medici, James I, as well as Shakespeare himself. < P>< I>Primary Sources< /I> is a hand-picked collection of some of the most significant and studied documents of the era, among them "Elizabeth I: Speeches," excerpts from "The Book of Common Prayer," "Pope Pius V's Bull against Elizabeth" and Shakespeare's "Richard II."
Shakespeare for Students, 2nd Edition by
Three volume set of Shakespeare's most-studied works, including basic narrative elements of each play and critical analysis.
 |
|
| Scene From Othello, Act I Scene 3, By William Shakespeare . Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. |
Databases
A good source for literary criticism, film, and stage reviews is ProQuest Learning: Literature. Click on Shakespeare. You can also search the whole product, and using this source you will be able to find articles on Ira Aldridge, Moors, Paul Robeson, etc.
A good source for Shakespeare's times is Daily Life Through History - look here general information about life in England during the age of Shakespeare.
Venice – Encyclopedia Articles from Britannica will be a good starting point.
Cyprus – Encyclopedia Articles from Britannica will be a good starting point.
Moors – Start with an Encyclopedia such as Britannica for a quick definition. Try looking up additional information in SIRS Knowledge Source, using “Moor AND Shakespeare” as a Boolean keyword search.
Turks - Try the Student Resources in Context doing a Cultures or Geography search. Look also at the chapter “National and Racial Stereotypes in Shakespeare Films” in The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film (cart).
Ira Aldridge – Encyclopedia Britannica + outside websites + articles, ProQuest Learning: Literature, and ProQuest Platinum.
Paul Robeson – Encyclopedia Britannica + outside websites + articles. Student Resources in Context will also provide an excellent biographical sketch. Try ProQuest Historical Newspapers for reviews of Robeson’s performances at the time. Try ProQuest Platinum for more current articles.
Recent Othello Productions – Use ProQuest Platinum to find Film and Stage Reviews of the Play (use Advanced Search and look for document type). Use ProQuest Historical Newspapers to find older articles (pre-1994). Use IMDB.com to find years of filmed productions and some external reviews. Click here for a New York Times Review of Zeffirelli's "Otello" starring Placido Domingo.
Epilepsy – Merck Manual (online + print chapter 85 on Cart), Encyclopedia Britannica or + weblinks + articles, the Epilepsy Foundation, the Student Resources in Context & the MacMillan Health Encyclopedia, v. 3. (on Cart).
