Under "mental health" use the drop down arrows to select topics for an overview of a condition or disorder. You can also select a population to see the prevalence of disorders within certain demographic groups. Includes links to brochures and an additional link (http://www.psychiatry.org/File%20Library/Practice/DSM/DSM-5/Changes-from-DSM-IV-TR--to-DSM-5.pdf) highlights some changes in the DSM-5. Happy clicking!
The official website of a well regarded self-help group whose focus is ADD/ADHD. A helpful link is Understanding ADHD (http://www.chadd.org/Understanding-ADHD.aspx).
Contains a variety of helpful resources: online tests, a glossary, links to other web sources, and most helpfully, incorporates updates in DSM-V and the World Health Organization.
Recommended by Ms. Smrek and Ms. Lamphier. Browse for a variety of reports on the condition you are researching. Good for facts, statistics, and solid data. Includes links to other valid websites.
Includes links to mental health disorders (http://psychcentral.com/disorders); and personality quizzes. Articles are signed by the authors and are reviewed periodically. Not all articles align with DSM-V, but this is stated.
The website of Russell Dewey provides information lining to university psychology departments, self-help resources, and psychological brochures. Some documents take a while to load and some information is out of date. Dr. Dewey notes publication dates of information.
A self help and support site for people with Schizophrenia, caregivers, and family members. Some information is out of date and some is recently added. Provides links to an Early Schizophrenia Test and Schizophrenia prevention. Some content is moderated by medical and psychological practitioners.
Mental Health Disorders and Illnesses
Mental illness. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 11 Feb 2015.
Online access to Scientific American including original graphics. After you enter the "magic word" password, then you will see Institutional Access. Scroll down to get to the issues or the top menu to see eBooks and Special Editions of Scientific American.
Online access to Nature, one of the most frequently cited science multidisciplinary journals. Provides access to a backfile of previous issues click here.
To use databases off-campus, you need the database passwords. You might also need password for some databases while on campus. Click on the link below & login with your mcpsmd.net username & password.
