LibGuides: CAP: The Roaring Twenties: Home

Databases

African-American History Online (Infobase)
Cross referenced entries spanning over 500 years of African American History.
American History (ABC-CLIO)
Primary source documents, reference and full-text journal articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO)
Details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful from their modern-day perspectives.
Issues and Controversies in History (Infobase)
Issues & Controversies in History provides background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history American & World History. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical era.
ProQuest Learning: Literature (ProQuest)
Collection of author biographies, contemporary criticism, reviews, and multimedia resources. Great for poetry readings.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest)
A Sample article for this project:
Schenbeck, Lyn. "Images of Women in American Theatre: The 1920s." Journal of American Drama and Theatre, 2003, pp. 43-60. SIRS Renaissance, https://sks.sirs.com.

eBooks

American Decades Series by Vincent Tompkins (Editor); Victor Bondi (Editor); Judith Baughman
ISBN: 9780787650766

Publication Date: 2000-12-01

American Decades documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. Each volume begins with an overview and chronology covering the entire decade. Subject chapters follow, each including an explanatory background overview; subject-specific timeline; and alphabetically arranged entries discussing the people, events and ideas important to that subject during the period. Included are biographies; explanations of concepts; terms and events; quotations; charts; sidebars covering high-interest topics; and much more.
The Twenties in America by Carl E. Rollyson; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: EBK 973.91 TWE

ISBN: 9781587658556

Publication Date: 2012-04-01

Flappers, prohibition, jazz, and the Lost Generation...

Websites recommended by your teachers

Chicago Tribune Time Machine: Mencken's review of The Great Gatsby
Praise from Mencken: "There are pages so artfully contrived that one can no more imagine improvising them than one can imagine improvising a fugue. They are full of little delicacies; charming turns of phrase, penetrating second thoughts. In other words, they are easy and excellent reading — which is what always comes out of hard writing."
Famous Trials: By Professor Douglas O. Linder
Excellent website very well regarded. Look for trials from the 20s. Some of the famous trials are here (Scopes & Sacco and Vanzetti), but many others rocked our world during the Roaring 20s!
The Harlem Renaissance and the Flowering of Creativity
Includes manuscripts, photographs, etc.
Internet Broadway Database
Has everything you need BUT start with a timeline (Salem Decades or Gale American Decades) to locate information about particular plays.
Library of Congress: American Leaders Speak
Hear recordings of famous American Leaders from World War I to the 1920 Election.
Library of Congress American Memory Project: Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
Articles, primary sources and links to people, publications, and events of the 1920s.
Musicals 101: History of the Musical Stage: 1920s
Make sure to look at all of the sections of this fantastic resource.
National Endowment for the Humanities: H. L. Mencken
Fascinating article about Mencken and reporting on politics.
New York Public Library Schomburg Center: Harlem 1900–1940
An outstanding digital exhibition from New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Ohio State University History Department: Prohibition
Gorgeous site. You'll find lots to admire!
PBS: Ken Burns' Jazz
Excellent overview, loaded up with primary sources, including videos, and an interactive map.
PBS: The People's Century
Click through to several selections in the 1920s for a look at pivotal events.

more... less...

On the Line (1926): Mass production forever alters the lives of workers and consumers

Great Escape (1927): The world forgets its troubles and falls in love with the movies

Breadline (1929): Economic depression triggers unemployment on a global scale
University of Houston Digital History: The 1920s
Many of your topics are right here. The links and clips on the Music page are right on target.
USA Today: Famous Places of the Harlem Renaissance
Includes links to Harlem Renaissance Walking Tour: https://traveltips.usatoday.com/harlem-renaissance-walking-tours-53819.html

Research Tools

NoodleTools (Noodletools)
Use Noodletools to create your works cited list. Share your list electronically with your teacher. Although this link will get you to Noodletools, it is also available to you on Clever.

MCPS Approval Status: Approved
PAID subscription (full access).

CAP: The Roaring Twenties: Home

Online Databases

Databases

eBooks

Websites recommended by your teachers

Research Tools

The Roaring Twenties